Invitation EFS Conference (30th anniversary of EFS) on Tuesday, 14 June 2022

I am pleased to invite you to the EFS conference ‘Globalisation, digitalisation and sustainability (in English and free of charge, 4 PE points) from 13.30 – 18.30 hrs on Tuesday, 14 June 2022.

On June 14 2022, EFS is organizing a congress to mark the beginning of its 30th anniversary. The theme of the conference is: ‘Globalisation, digitalization and sustainability’. The themes are viewed from each of the three disciplines on which EFS focuses, namely direct taxes, VAT and customs duties. Nine speakers give an introduction on each item. After the introductions of the afternoon there is extensive space for panel discussion between the speaker and with the participants.


13.30 – 13.40      Welcome – Peter Kavelaars
13.40 – 13.45      Introduction – Han Kogels
13.45 – 14.00      Globalisation: VAT – Allard van Nes 
14.00 – 14.15      Globalisation: Direct Tax – Maarten de Wilde
14.15 – 14.30      Globalisation: Customs – Walter de Wit
14.30 – 14.45      Digitalisation: VAT – Madeleine Merkx
14.45 – 15.00      Digitalisation: Direct Tax – Ronald Russo
15.00 – 15.15      Digitalisation: Customs – Frank Heijmann
15.15 – 15.45      Break
15.45 – 16.00      Sustainability: VAT – Eduardo Traversa
16.00 – 16.15      Sustainability: Direct Tax – Jan Vleggeert
16.15 – 16.30      Sustainability: Customs – Martijn Schippers
16.30 – 17.30      Discussion
17.30 – 18.30      Drinks and Networking

We are pleased to invite tax professionals from the Netherlands and abroad with a background in consultancy and practice and working for government authorities, tax and customs administrations, international organizations, industry or the academic world to attend this conference, which will also officially mark the completion of the 2021 EFS post-master programmes in EU Customs Law and Indirect Taxation.

We look forward to welcoming you on Tuesday, 14 June 2022!

Board of EFS
Prof. Peter Kavelaars and prof. Maarten de Wilde

Seminar Chair
Prof. Han Kogels – Erasmus School of Law, Erasmus School of Economics, EFS


Prof. Madeleine Merkx – Erasmus School of Law, EFS, BDO
Prof. Ronald Russo – Tilburg University, Dutch Tax Authority
Frank Heijmann – Dutch Customs Authority
Allard van Nes – Universiteit Leiden, FrieslandCampina
Prof. Maarten de Wilde – Erasmus School of Law, EFS, PwC
Walter de Wit – Erasmus School of Law, EFS, EY
Eduardo Traversa – Catholic University of Louvain, KU Leuven, WU Vienna and Oxford University, Of Counsel Arteo
Prof. Jan Vleggeert – Universiteit Leiden
Dr. Martijn Schippers – Erasmus School of Law, EFS, EY


Register here.

Image source:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s